SC CWP FAQ
Political News and Commentary
Carolina Concealable Weapons Permit
A South Carolina Concealable Weapons Permit (SC CWP) allows the permit holder to carry a concealed handgun for personal protection in public, with some restrictions.
Please see the Class Schedule page for class dates and cost. For more information, email firstname.lastname@example.org or phone 864-444-2931.
This is a SLED approved, eight hour course, for applicants who wish to obtain a Concealable Weapons Permit (CWP) in the state of South Carolina. A Concealable Weapons Permit (CWP) is available to residents of South Carolina and "qualified non-residents" who wish to carry a concealed handgun on their person for personal protection. Under the “Law Abiding Citizens Self Defense Act of 1996” SLED must issue a permit to all qualified applicants. A qualified applicant is one who may legally own a firearm, (no indictments or convictions for a felony, no addiction to a controlled substance, etc.), is a resident of South Carolina or "qualified non-resident", is at least 21 years of age, and has completed a Certification Course of at least eight hours.
The following items are required to apply for an SC CWP:
1. A South Carolina CWP application.
2. Proof of residence. An SC drivers license is sufficient and will serve as proof of adequate vision. If a state ID card is used as proof of residence, a statement from an optomitrist showing corrected vision of at least 20/40.
3. A current full face photograph no smaller than 1”x 1” nor larger than 3” x 5”.
4. A complete set of fingerprints.
5. Proof of training.
6. An application fee of $50.00
You will receive your CWP (or reason for denial) directly from SLED in about 90 days.
In the CWP course we will cover such topics as handgun types, nomenclature, and operation. This is vital to our discussion of handgun safety. “The Law Abiding Citizens Self Defense Act of 1996” as amended will be discussed in detail as this is the law that regulates the carry of concealable weapons in this state. The use of deadly force as established by case law is included in the legal portion of the class. Other topics include the selection of handguns, ammunition, and methods of concealed carry.
To successfully complete the class, each applicant must pass a 50 question written test with a score of no less than 70%, and pass the range qualification with a score of no less than 70%.
The course will last no less than 8 hours, including the test and range qualification, but should take no longer than 10 hours.
A "qualified non-resident" is a person who resides in another state, but owns real property in South Carolina.
NO LIVE AMMUNITION ALLOWED IN THE CLASSROOM
|Sign Up For
Class Updates and Area Gun News!