SC CWP FAQ
Political News and Commentary
Carolina CWP Frequently Asked Questions
This page is designed to help answer the most common questions about the SC Concealed Weapons Permit program. Please note that while I have made every reasonable effort to insure that the information on this page is accurate at the time of writing, I am not an attorney and do not provide legal advice. This information is presented as it is understood by myself and/or as it has been explained by the SC State Law Enforcement Division. Also be aware that laws do change at all levels of government. It is your responsibility to confirm any information that may affect you.
Who may apply for a SC CWP?
A law abiding citizen who is at least 21 years of age and may legally own a handgun, (no indictments or convictions for a felony, no addiction to a controlled substance, etc.), is a resident of South Carolina or "qualified non-resident", and has completed a Certification Course of at least eight hours may apply for a SC CWP.
What is the process for obaining a SC CWP?
A person who wishes to obtain a SC CWP must submit the following items:
How do I renew my SC CWP?
CWP holders may renew online as much as 90 days before expiration at : https://www.sled.state.sc.us/sled/default.asp?Category=CWPR&Service=CWPR
Some restrictions do apply to online renewals. You must renew by mail if these or other restrictions apply:
What do I do if I lose my CWP card or change my address?
Print the Duplicate/Replacement form and follow the instructions. If you are changing your address, your current CWP is valid until the new card arrives, at which time you should return the old card to SLED. If your CWP card is lost or stolen, note that you MAY NOT carry a concealed weapon without a valid CWP card in your possession.
Where can I carry a handgun?
A SC CWP allows the permit holder to carry a concealed handgun in most public places. Concealed carry is prohibitted in some locations by law. Some of the places that are off-limits are:
Is my SC CWP valid nationwide or only in South Carolina?
Neither is entirely true. While the permit is not recognized nationally, there are many states that do recognize it. From SC SLED's website:
As of September 12, 2008, states with which South Carolina has reciprocity are:
Residents of reciprocal states who hold permits issued by their states of residence may carry concealed firearms in South Carolina, but must abide by the restrictions in the South Carolina CWP law. For that reason, out of state residents of reciprocal states should familiarize themselves with restricted carry locations and other provisions of South Carolina law posted on this website. South Carolina permittees who carry firearms in reciprocal states are likewise responsible for familiarizing themselves with the applicable laws and regulations of the reciprocal state. Web sites of those states may be accessed by selecting the desired state name listed above.
Reciprocity is established by agreement between two states. In addition there are states that honor a SC CWP even though there is no formal agreement. Using www.handgunlaw.us, we find the following states honor a SC CWP.Of note, Alaska and Vermont do not require a permit to carry a handgun openly or concealed.
When is deadly force justified?
In general terms, the use of deadly force may only be used as a last resort in order to protect an innocent human life. Case law establishes four elements of self-defense in South Carolina. These are:
Remember! All laws are subject to interpretation in a court. If accused, your fate may lie in the hands of twelve people who weren't smart enough to avoid jury duty.
|Sign Up For
Class Updates and Area Gun News!